MIS Early Years
MIS Juniors
MIS Seniors

As such MIS Early Years uses the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum for England (EYFS) as the basis for planning and delivering engaging, autonomous and appropriate learning experiences for our youngest children.


The curriculum is a play-based one and sets the standards for the education of all children under five years old in England.  The emphasis is on child led and play-based experiences which are meaningful, encourage independence and give young children the chance to become happy and confident learners. It also gives them the opportunity to develop their language skills before entering Year One the following year.


The EYFS consists of seven areas of learning. The Prime Areas being 'Communication and Literacy', 'Physical Development' and 'Personal, Social and Emotional Development' and these are considered fundamental for underpinning all other learning areas.  The other four Specific Areas are 'Literacy', 'Mathematics', 'Understanding the World' and 'Expressive Arts and Design'.



Key Stage 1 = Years 1&2
Key Stage 2 = Years 3-6


To help your child become an able, confident and inspired learner, we focus on skill development. Working individually and collaboratively, your child will consider topics from multiple perspectives and make meaningful connections between subjects.


Your child deserves more than that which is traditionally taught in a primary school, either local or international. Merchiston International School offers that extra-special curriculum. Our active, meaningful and inspiring programme is designed to lay a solid foundation for your child.


In our Juniors section, children use a unique combination of the Merchiston Castle School Edinburgh Juniors Curriculum, the National Curriculum of England, and the International Primary Curriculum (IPC), offering structure in core subjects as well as creativity, personal development and developing international mindedness.


Key Stage 3 = Years 7-9
Key Stage 4 = Years 10 & 11
Key Stage 5 = Years 12 & 13 (Sixth Form)


Our Key Stage 3 (Years 7-9) is the time for your child to consolidate knowledge and skills in preparation for the high school: for IGCSE in terms of foundation subject knowledge and A-level and university entrance in terms of international mindedness, as well as independent and critical thinking skills.


Our Key Stage 3 programme offers depth of study and room to develop independence. Therefore, our MIS curriculum, combining elements of the Merchiston Castle School Edinburgh Curriculum and the National Curriculum of England, provides an ideal way to guide your child forward and focuses upon honing the skills that your child will require for future success. We have refined these aspects and introduced our own skills programme to ensure we offer the greatest opportunities. Your child's developing adolescent brain deserves a special approach, so that is why we have devised such a special curriculum.

Is your child ready for an accelerated high school programme? In Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11), MIS students follow a broad range of subjects at IGCSE level. These internationally recognised examinations provide rigorous preparations for the A-level and other pre-university courses. We are one of the few schools in Shenzhen to offer these rigorous courses. Indeed, with university coming on the horizon, you want your child to have every academic advantage.


How are our Key Stages 4 and 5 different? Through the IGCSE, we offer a carefully constructed approach to ensure that your child is in the very best position to enter A-level courses and then the strongest possible candidate for university. The IGCSEs and A-levels also use internationally-benchmarked assessment systems understood and valued by universities worldwide.


Understanding the IGCSE: Internationally-respected, the IGCSE curriculum is a two-year course during which your child will study a number of subjects in great depth. This approach provides the time to establish a solid foundation upon which the rest of their high school progress will depend.


Subjects Studied at IGCSE: Core examined subjects are: English, Mathematics and Science

Optional subjects are: Fine Art, Textiles, Photography, Design Technology, Economics, Business Studies, Geography, History, Music, Drama, Computer Science and Physical Education.


IGCSE, The Core Subjects: At MIS, everyone studies Mathematics, English and Science (Physics, Chemistry and Biology) as part of the KS4 IGCSE curriculum. Non-Examined compulsory subjects are: Core PE (Physical Education) and Wellbeing.

Optional Subject Choices: There is a broad selection of additional subjects to choose from:


  • Art

  • Business Studies

  • Chinese

  • Computer Science

  • Design Technology

  • Drama

  • Economics

  • Geography

  • History

  • Music

  • Photography

  • Physical Education

  • Textiles

In our Sixth Form (Key Stage 5 = Years 12 & 13), the A-levels facilitate intensive, specialist study of (usually) three subjects. All students also follow the MIS Sixth Form Core which includes compulsory participation our Activities programme (including Service, Work Experience & the Sixth Form Trip) and completion of the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ).

The subjects offered at A-level include:

  • Art
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Chinese
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Geography
  • History
  • Mathematics
  • Further Mathematics
  • Music
  • Physics
  • Product Design


Sixth Form study is designed to allow students to pursue subjects in which they have a particular interest to much greater depth and breadth. As such, students are encouraged to opt for subjects they enjoy with a passion and to which they are willing, and able, to dedicate two years of study. Naturally, a certain level of academic achievement in these subjects is also required for the student to be successful and to enable them to progress to university.

The MIS standard entry requirement for all courses is used to determine a student’s suitability for Sixth Form entry. It represents the school’s indication that a student, based on performance in a particular subject area, has both the attitude and aptitude to achieve at least a D at A-level by the end of Year 13, assuming good progress is made, and is therefore eligible to opt for the subject in the Sixth Form. Pastorally, the student will be expected to make a positive impact on the cohort.

Eligibility takes into consideration the student’s track record in terms of:

  • Work ethic
  • Attitude and conduct
  • Academic integrity
  • Contribution to school life
  • Positive impact on the cohort
  • Academic attainment to date
  • Mock examination results


NOTE: A student requesting to study 4 A-levels should have a grade A profile at IGCSE, plus an excellent effort record across all subjects.

External applicants: When considering a student's suitability for entry to our Sixth Form, the same criteria apply. Successful applicants for a 3 A-level pathway should have an average B grade profile, based on performance in the Mock (I)GCSE examinations, with at least an (I)GCSE Grade B in the subjects to be pursued at A-level, unless otherwise specified. As a guide, an MYP grade of 5 or above is generally regarded as an equivalent. Diagnostic tests in A-level subjects can be expected, to ensure that students are confidently placed on the right course.